Life’s good here, I finally finished paperwork hell.  I’m really proud of my Alien Registration Card that ran out of space to put my new visa status, because I’ve been here so long.  They had to hand write it in pen!  There is a lot more paperwork this time because my old school did it for me last 2 years.  I must handle on my own now that I’m independent.  It was a good experience though, I learned a lot.  Working at two schools means double the paperwork and bus rides to government offices.

Luckily, I don’t need the FBI check from the US, which I’ve been waiting for since early November.  That was a waste of money to even request it seems…

I’m teaching some students 1 on 1 and it’s a lot of work preparing material for each class and coming up with ideas for lessons.  Teaching in academies does not prepare you for actual teaching.  I think I’m learning as much or more than my students.  It’s only 2 students right now.  The money is still good and the freedom to teach what you want, when you want is really refreshing.  It is giving me more confidence to sort of “go it alone” in terms of being self-employed, which is something I still find absolutely terrifying but also highly appealing.  There is no one to blame but yourself if you can’t make it work.
Mom sent me some magazines I’m planning to use in my lessons tomorrow.  It should be a fun and interesting class.  In 3 weeks I’ll start the university Korean classes.  I’ve been really lazy about studying since arriving back in Korea, but I am ready to start the classes.  I’m tired of waiting.
I started up a savings account where Hyeon Mi and I contribute money because we are planning a trip next year, for sure to the US, maybe other places too.  It feels really good to set a goal and actually start working toward it.  It had only been talk before, but now the wheels are turning.
I don’t mean to be melodramatic, but I still feel like I’m searching for where I can fit in life/the world.  I love the idea of long term stability, but at the same time abhor monotony.  A climbing friend here in Korea is moving to Myanmar, a country that just opened up to the world a few years ago.  That seems so appealing and awesome, but I know his pay will be shit.  What does it matter though, if he can make enough to feed himself.  But then you think about retirement, or long term care insurance, or any number of other things.  It’s a real battle being waged in my mind.  I’m the kind of person that can be happy doing just about anything so I don’t worry about it to much.  But also hate seeing good opportunities go.  I think everybody has doubt about their where the life is going, what they are doing with the limited time they have, etc.
