Renting out my room for a few days this summer.  I’ll update with how it goes.  Feels a little strange letting people into my home but I’m excited to camp in the summer and make a little extra money.  Should be an interesting experience.  If you’re curious about my place the link is below.

https://www.airbnb.com/rooms/7017513

Really good essay I found linked below, I can’t attempt to summarize it because it does such a good job of hitting several relevant points.  It seems like free speech is dying.  We don’t have the great thinkers we did when the US was founded, who champions free speech now?  Nobody stands up for the right of hate mongers to spread hate.  To a lot of people that sounds like a good thing, but I’ve always taken the position that Voltaire does.

“I do not agree with what you have to say, but I’ll defend to the death your right to say it.”

http://www.ronpaulinstitute.org/archives/featured-articles/2015/june/29/the-emergence-of-orwellian-newspeak-and-the-death-of-free-speech/

 

Also pick your presidential candidate.  Banking Cartel, Mystery Black Box of PAC Money, Teamsters/Unions.

Hillary Clinton

These contributors lend to the idea that Clinton will be favoring big banks and Wall Street endeavors.

Donor Amount Given
Citigroup Inc $782,327
Goldman Sachs $711,490
DLA Piper $628,030
JPMorgan Chase & Co $620,919
EMILY’s List $605,174

Jeb Bush

Bush’s funding has been originating largely from Super PACs, which are not required to disclose donors or their total amounts. I was still able to discern who is giving money to his largest PAC: “Right to Rise”. I found a few articles which stated that Right to Rise had raised over $100,000,000 by the end of May. This dwarfs the $38,000,000 that G.W. Bush raised during this candidacy.

Donor Type
Millennials for Jeb Super PAC
Right to Rise Super PAC Super PAC
Right to Rise Policy Solutions 501c4
Vamos for Jeb 2016 Super PAC
Jeb 2016 Campaign

Bernie Sanders

These contributors make Sanders appear to favor the interests of the American unionized work force.

Donor Amount Given
Machinists/Aerospace Workers Union $105,000
Teamsters Union $93,700
National Education Assn $84,350
United Auto Workers $79,650
United Food & Commercial Workers Union $72,500

 

