Read one hour daily.

Write one hour daily.

Train one hour daily.

I’ve begun reading again, and it’s something I really enjoy.  Being able to self-learn and teach yourself seems to be the most valuable skill set one can possess.  I’ve read many of Nassim Taleb’s books on randomness, probability, and fragility and they’ve really opened my eyes to how the world works.  Even though I learn a great deal from these books it is incredibility difficult to add these tools, and ways of thinking into my daily life.  While the techniques might be difficult to apply the books have sparked an interest in classical knowledge.

Epigrams, axioms, aphorisms are able to convey valuable knowledge in a compact and brief format especially have piqued my interest as of late.  I keep a copy of Taleb’s Procrustean Bed in my bathroom and make a habit of reading a few everyday, often something will stick with me and I’ll mull it over for a few weeks.  Each one bringing a new realization with it.

The English have Mediterranean weather at random times; but they go to Spain because their free hours are deterministic & rigid

Don’t sound like great system, does it?

There are several aphorisms that hint at the dangers of efficiency as a primary objective.  The quest for more efficiency saps the fun out of hobbies and activities.  In business it often sacrifices redundancy and stability causing things to blow up.  (Remember that next time you are delayed at the airport for hours over a computer glitch) .

Another aphorism I’d like to apply to my life is that, if no heuristic, or a rule of thumb, exist on a topic, then don’t do it.  Basically, follow rules of thumb, grandmother’s advice, knowledge from the classics and other forms of knowledge that have already been tested by time to ensure that they do not cause harm.

I found the Trifecta listed at the beginning of this blog on Twitter, and I thought, “there we go, that is an easy heuristic I can apply.”  I’ve done physical training, but stopped and plan to start up again soon.  I’ve written blog posts, but also stopped with little intention of starting again, and I currently spend free time reading books/web.  Why not try all three at once?

So here I am, attempting to write my first hour and satisfy the requirements of my recently adopted Trifecta.  I’m not certain it will yield any benefits, but the harm in trying is insignificant.  I plan to keep writing and focus on topics that interest me.

